Another Rut Goes By …

Fallow Buck – ISO 1000; 50-140mm + 1.4x TC; f/4; 1/180 sec (click image to view larger size)

… AND another year!

I can’t believe a whole year went by since my last post, how did that happen?

Sadly, I missed a lot of the rut this year, and some of the best conditions, due to other commitments. But I did manage a few outings and some decent shots.

By far my favourite is the main image above. I don’t often capture the fallow bucks as they are more elusive and often run off when disturbed (even though I keep my distance). I’d seen this one in the woods, mostly obscured by the bracken with head down grazing the fallen nuts on the ground and difficult to get a shot.

So I walked parallel hoping to get ahead of him and catch a glimpse where the woodland opened out onto a track ahead. Imagine my surprise (and feverish panic to get the tripod up!) as I found him already standing there watching me as if waiting to have his photo taken. He disappeared soon after I took it but I was happy, especially given the wonderful early morning light and lovely autumnal setting.

Here is a selection of other images from my recent visits:

(click any image above to view in a gallery with EXIF data)

The eagle-eyed amongst you might have noticed several shots featuring the same tree (it’s my favourite!). I often take a wander past just in case I stumble upon something interesting.

If you’d like to purchase one of my images, I have several available online. The featured image above can be viewed here and my most popular image from last year, which is also one of my all-time favourites, can be viewed here.


All images were made with the Fujifilm X-T3 and the excellent XF 50-140mm f/2.8 lens with a 1.4x teleconverter.


 

Leave a comment