My Favourite(s) This Year

A Magical Autumn Morning – ISO 1000; 50-140mm + 1.4x TC; f/5.6; 1/80 sec (click image to view larger size)

The annual deer rut in Richmond Park this year was superb! Probably my most enjoyable ever.

The one above is definitely my favourite image. I was so lucky to catch this red deer hind with her calf standing under what has now become my favourite tree in the park. And the conditions were sublime –  a calm morning with plenty of mist and some soft early light to illuminate the scene and bring out the autumn colours.

We had almost a whole week of calm conditions resulting in some lovely mornings around sunrise.

Here are another couple of shots that almost made it to be my favourite:

(click any image above to view in a gallery with EXIF data)

If you’d like to purchase one of my images, I have several available online here.

UPDATE November 2019: I was delighted to hear that one of these images made it onto the shortlist for the Picfair & MPB Wildlife competition (first image in the list).


All images were made with the Fujifilm X-T1 and the excellent XF 50-140mm f/2.8 lens with a 1.4x teleconverter.


 

Leave a comment