The Deer Hunter

The story behind the shot:

The Deer Hunter

The Deer Hunter – 210mm; ISO 125; 1/350 sec; f/8.0 (click image to view larger size)

This morning I headed into Richmond Park before sunrise, as the weather forecast looked good for misty conditions and it wasn’t wrong!

Before the sun came up I captured this shot of a red deer stag in the mist:

Before the Sun

Before the Sun

As you can see, there was plenty of low lying mist. All I had to do now was find a stag in a good position to be lit by the rising sun. Rather than follow a stag, as I’m keen not to disturb them too much especially as there were a few other photographers around, I went in search of the light first.

Discovering a great spot with slanting rays of sunlight beginning to pierce the mist, I set up and waited.

And waited, and waited …

You know what’s comingĀ – no more stags nearby, at least none prepared to walk into my trap! It just happens sometimes, they’d all wandered away somewhere else.

But what I did spot was another photographer, also looking for deer, wandering through the mist in just the right spot, so – click! A shot I was more than pleased with.

I did bag another couple of shots I liked – a cyclist heading to work and another stag later in the morning after the mist had cleared:


Leave a comment